My Faith

Lesson Learned

Thinking back over 2015, there is one important lesson I think I have mostly learned.

I can’t do ANYTHING on my own.

Self-reliance has been the biggest stumbling block in my mental and emotional health, ridiculously believing I can fix it. I can, somehow, change it. As a mere mortal, I have no power. I cannot change the world. I cannot change the people around me. I cannot even change myself. Oddly enough, this is a huge relief to me.

I can take the cape off that I tied around my neck and hang it up for good.

Proverbs 3:5 says to trust in the Lord with ALL your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. I cannot see the big picture except in hindsight. The day-to-day details of how God works in my life are hard enough to wrap my mind around sometimes. But, I know He is faithful. I know He is worthy of ALL my trust.

Freeing myself of expectations I cannot meet and, with all my might, leaping into the arms of the Almighty, I find peace I’ve never known. Peace that reassures me that everything is going to be okay. My kids are going to be okay. My husband is going to be okay. My finances are going to be okay. I am okay.

 

Leave a Reply

